Women In Hip Hop: Still Standing

Got ReDD??

Women In Hip Hop: Still Standing

 

Just in time, before the end of women’s history month The Source Presented a Discussion entitled Women in Hip Hop: Still Standing. This was a pleasant surprise to me because I was just thinking about organizing a discussion around ‘Feminist in Hip Hop’. I am a Women’s Studies graduate with a hand in the Hip Hop world so it was only necessary for me to attend. I had to reschedule some studio time to ensure that I was present. (It was that serious!) When I read the event details I was unfamiliar with the featured panelists so when I arrived to Harlem’s Audubon and was welcomed by a room full of prominent women and great people, it was an amazing feeling. For Starters the event took place in the exact building that Malcolm-X was assassinated in. Let me repeat, the exact building that Malcolm-X was assassinated in. As…

View original post 1,215 more words

Leave a Reply

