SHANIKA WARREN-MARKLAND INTERVIEW 2013


SHANIKA WARREN-MARKLAND INTERVIEW 2013

Magevizo

What have you been up to since the last time we spoke?

SWM

Ooh what have I done – when was the last time we spoke? haha. I did a short film called Omar up in Liverpool. That was part of a series called Eclipse 10 by 10 in association with The BBC, directed by Dawn Walton who I first met when I was about 14 or 15. It was a great little niche project, Dawn gave 10 writers from ethnic minority backgrounds a book to read ( A Rage In Harlem ) and they all went away and wrote a short film, with the book as creative inspiration. Omar was about a guy who gets kidnapped on his stag-do and held by some scary guys who think he’s a muslim terrorist. I played his fiance Belle, who he see’s in flashbacks of their relationship and in delirious visions. I also shot a new comedy called Gone Too Far, which is out soon.

Magevizo

Do you have any plans to produce your own film?

SWM

I do actually ! I’m currently working on an idea for a short film with a friend of mine. And I recently found an old notebook with some ideas for features, so keep an eye out!

Magevizo

Who is the ideal actor or producer you would want to work with and why?

SWM

Idris Elba please ! Thats from an eye candy point of view as well as thinking he’s great, I cant wait for another series of Luther. Also Sophie Okonedo is amazing I think we look a little alike maybe I could play her daughter.

Magevizo

You have a new film coming out called Gone Too Far what can you tell us about your character?

SWM

My character Armani ( in Gone Too Far ) is a nasty piece of work! No, she’s very young and is the kind of girl who uses her looks to get to places and to get what she wants out of people. She’s still trying to figure out where she fits in the world in terms of her identity, as a mixed race girl in multi-cultural Britain. She does not have a relationship with her dad yet identifies herself as Jamaican, probably because she wouldn’t know how else to classify herself and racial tensions on the estate means that she says some horrible things about Africans. She’s spoilt and immature but will hopefully grow out of it.

IMG-20131120-WA0002

Magevizo

The film is funded by The BFI how vital are they to the UK film industry?

SWM

I think The BFI are vital to the British film industry  they are a great resource for anybody interested in films for a start. Gone To Far would not have been made without them the production had been told that it would be risky to make the film because the mum isn’t a crack whore, the dads not in jail, nobody gets stabbed – people actually said that to our director in meetings. But The BFI could see the story and wanted that story to have a chance to be told and they helped fund the production.

Magevizo

Where is the weirdest place you have been recognised?

SWM

I dont know about the weirdest place Ive ever been recognised but one of the most embarrassing moments was when I popped into my local Primark, no make-up on nothing to buy some socks. I felt like a total disappointment haha!

Magevizo

What are your thoughts on Nollywood and Bollywood?

SWM

I think Bollywood and Nollywood are two of the fastest growing industries within film. They have a lot of investment and are really improving in terms of quality. I would love to get dressed in a beautiful sari and do one of those big song numbers.

Magevizo

How do you prepare for a film role?

SWM

Preparation for a role, depends on the role sometimes I will see what similarities I can draw between myself and the character or research. Research is important if the character is in to something that you have no clue about. I will try to work out how to phisically embody the character how they stand, sit and walk. I always find it helpful to do some work into a characters back story. Think about family background, friends, relationships, history, education that kind of thing.

Magevizo 

#Whatsonyourmindnow ?

SWM

What is on my mind right now is whether I should cook tonight or treat myself to a cheeky Chinese takeaway!

CHECK OUT THE PREVIEW OF OMAR

HERE IS THE DIRECTOR OF GONE TOO FAR DESTINY EKARAGHA TALKING ABOUT THE FILM

:Click here for related article

Written by

@Magevizo

Worship Team

Current World Media

CLICK to FOLLOW or DOWNLOAD our apps NOW

FOLLOW US HERE

facebook_logo_small1 

Twitter Logo small 2

DOWNLOAD OUR APPS HERE

small black berry logo

google-play-logo-300x170

 

Leave a Reply

